Bearded dragon on the fence post

IMG_7762

On the way to town today, I met this bearded dragon on a fence post. This is as close as I’ve ever been to one. Isn’t he lovely?

I always watch out for bearded dragons on the road. They are often stretched out on the tarmac, with their necks raised, stock still and camouflaged. I’d hate to run over one.

IMG_7760  IMG_7764

This entry was posted in Australian Bush Life, Fauna and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bearded dragon on the fence post

  1. Bolko says:

    Bearded dragons are indeed very lovely lizards. I have one as a pet, so I am close to it every day. I didn’t know that they like to bask on the ground, I thought usually they perch high. Can you give some information about their behaiviors and habits, as well as traditional aboriginal stories, for non Australians?
    You have a nice blog.

    • Thank you for your comment and compliment.
      I’m so sorry it has taken me so long to approve your comment. I didn’t realise that, though I’d read and liked it at the time, I hadn’t actually approved it. As you can see I haven’t posted anything on my blog for the last year, so I haven’t been looking after it as I should. I apologise for not letting you know that it was great to get your comment.
      Bearded dragons are indeed beautiful and appealing lizards. It must be wonderful to have one as a pet. They are usually up high, like this one on the fence post, but I have come across a few basking in the middle of dirt roads. They don’t get out of the way! I’ve had to get out of my vehicle and move them off the road.
      I’m sad to say that I don’t know any Aboriginal stories about bearded dragons. I have some other nice photos of beardies, so I’ll find them and post them soon. Thanks again!

      • Bolko says:

        Don’t worry, I read your reply.
        Bearded dragons are somewhat stupid when it comes to escape. They rely much of the time on their camuflage more than their speed to evade predators, like chameleons, so they don’t go away from you. I have heard that even in nature they can be caught easily. They can of course run, but not always. This might work for some of the native predators, but what happens when humans or cars are the threat?

  2. Caitlin says:

    Hello! Your image of the bearded dragon on the fence post is wonderful! Very iconic of the lizards enjoying one of their favourite basking spots. I work at a museum in the Northeastern USA where we have a pair of bearded dragons who live on-site. I would love to use this image as part of a new presentation about bearded dragons that I am developing for our family audiences. I would not modify or make profits from the image. Would you grant permission to use your image?
    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

