New Boots

IMG_8484

Here they are, my beautiful brand new Aussie-made Mongrel work boots.

My very first post included a photo of my late Dad’s boots, the Blundstones I’ve been wearing every day on the farm for the last five and a half years since he died.

Dad’s boots don’t fit me. They are several sizes too big. And now they have become too uncomfortable to wear any more. My trick of wearing a small size fitted inner sole no longer works. They fall off me. I like to do as much as I can around the farm on foot. I like the quiet and being on the move. But these old boots give me no support and my feet really hurt by the end of the day. So I couldn’t put off buying a new pair of boots any longer.

IMG_8494

I’m not going to throw them out. I don’t have the heart to do that, not yet. They’ll live outside the back door for a while.  But if and when we finally get rain (it’s pretty grim here at the moment, waiting, waiting), I’ll joyfully wear Dad’s boots again in the wet and mud.  Not that they are sound enough to protect my feet but because my new ones are so beautiful and I want to keep them that way for as long as possible.

IMG_8497

The joy of new work boots…Sometimes you just have to fall heels over head!

This entry was posted in Australian Bush Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Boots

  1. Pingback: Addio boots | Country Life and Death

Leave a Reply

